Living in the Now!

Learning to enjoy my life more!

Waiting for my PI

on 13/02/2012

Never stop learning

In the last year at college I was taught Java, nothing against my tutors who are quite good but I don’t feel as though I’ve learned much. I know syntax and commands and structure of statements but I cannot think or problem solve using Java or any other language except HTML and CSS (although more a presentation language rather than a programming language). So while I’m taking my little sabbatical from college I plan on changing this. I am wondering would it be better if I started from the beginning using another language to try and approach it all from a different angle or stick with what I know and cut out some of the learning curve with Java.

Raspberry Pi Logo

The Raspberry Pi Logo

One of the things that is driving this little push toward learning programming aside from always wanting to learn is the recent article titled coding for success by Andy Young @ The Kernal.org. this opened my eyes to what I may need to do in order to succeed at learning to program. But another thing that’s peaked my interest is a wonderful little product called the Raspberry Pi, its a ultra cheap, very small, ARM based computer running Linux and potentially any ARM based OS that can run on 256 or 512mb RAM. it might be low power and the lower end of the specifications spectrum but it is also only $25 to $35 or there about.

Time away

I am also going to watch Kevin Smith and Jason Mews do Jay and Silent Bob get old in Hammersmith this month, hopefully I will also be stopping at Bletchly Park on the way home and I’m going to try and convince Vicky my wonderful wife to stop in Brooklands museum either on the way there or if we got time on the way home. Also at some point I plan on writing a story I’m planning on turning into a comic book that I might also illustrate.

In closing

There are a lot of other things I have in the works like spending more time with Project C.A.R.S and uploading more videos to my YouTube channel. Running events on the Hob Nob’s and Murder gaming communities Minecraft server. Although Project CARS is still looking for funding and anyone who gives money to the project will share in its profits and get access to builds of the game as it’s being developed. Also Hob Nobs & Murder have a new YouTube channel and we are always open for new members, if your interested join our Facebook page, Google+ page, Desura, Steam, YouTube or our blog and post some information about your self.

Because its Valentines day approaching here is a little Google love for everyone. Paste this into Google sqrt(cos(x))cos(300x)+sqrt(abs(x))-0.7)(4-x*x)^0.01, sqrt(6-x^2), -sqrt(6-x^2) from -4.5 to 4.5 and smile. ❤

Leave a Reply

